Still Reflecting

I am in Seattle today.  I will be hanging around here for a couple of weeks waiting for the sub-let agreement on my apartment to expire. I have a few friends in Seattle and I plan  on spending some time visiting and eating at every Korean restaurant I can find.  I also enrolled in a U.S. Coast Guard captains course.  A two-week course to obtain a license to captain small vessels in Alaska.

Bobby in Seattle with her pet chicken, Velveeta

Bobby in Seattle with her pet chicken, Velveeta

On the last two voyages of the Antarctic season the weather was so spectacular it was possible to take incredible reflection photographs. I have been thinking of ways to improve the balance and symmetry in my photographic compositions.  Often while I am trying to photograph I am also working: driving a boat or paddling a kayak.  It seems I am always  photographing on the run and often shooting moving subjects, wildlife just doesn’t sit still. Rarely do I have time to consider angles, lines and symmetry.

prions over the Drake Passage

prions over the Drake Passage

I have posted a few pictures of prions reflected over the Drake Passage. I keep posting them because seeing a prion over the Drake passage is a rare event for most people. Having a Drake Passage crossing that is calm enough to produce mirror image reflections almost never happens. When it does the reflection of sky on the water surface produces a surreal effect. the photos seem to be of birds flying with the sky as a back drop, but the reflection makes us second guess what we are seeing.

When the water is calm prions like to drag the tip if their wing along the surface of the water.  Shooting a back-lit bird in evening light produces amazing effects.

Prion wing dragging with back lighting

Prion wing dragging with back lighting

prion wing dragging with back lighting

prion wing dragging with back lighting

Sunny calm days in Antarctica produce amazing opportunities for reflections and reflections are one of the easiest ways to incorporate symmetry into wildlife/nature photography. It’s almost cheating, but given the conditions I am shooting under: Driving a zodiac, shooting from the deck of a moving ship or the fact that I never use a tripod, make it challenging to take interesting photos with great composition and symmetry.  here are a few more of my favorites.

Antarc_reflect4

Antarc_reflect7

Antarc_reflect8

Antarc_reflect10

2 Responses to “Still Reflecting”

  1. Love that Minnesota hoodie in the first photo 🙂

  2. wow. this post and the last–beautiful. welcome (almost) home.

Leave a Reply

