Return to the land of ice

Its been ten months since I last visited Antarctica. Its hard to believe that much time has passed. Its fells so natural to return and I am often surprised at how familiar I have become with a places so remote.

I Boarded the Akademic Vavilov on the 6th of february and started a three week expedition that visited the Falkland Islands, South Georgia Island and Antarctica. This voyage is one of the most historical, remote and wildlife rich journeys in the world. I feel blessed that I am so fully involved in such a euneak and special experience.

I am in Ushuia, Argentina today on a two hour shore leave before disembarking again for the Antarctic continent I have so many photos and stories to share, but so little time. And the internet connection is too slow.  Here are a few shots of the journey. I will share as many as the connection will allow.

review

I have to admit I was a little rusty after spending so much time off the ship. It took at least a week to regain all my confidence running zodiac and kayak operations in this wild and unpredictable part of the world. I have my sea legs under me again. I leave this afternoon for three more voyages to the land of ice.

review-10

review-17review-18review-11review-14review-16review-7 review-8 review-19

Leave a Reply

